New here-a question on technique

The first thirty years are the worst

Moderators: Zoot, Teddy Dupont

Astroline1

New here-a question on technique

Post by Astroline1 »

Hey I'm fairly new to gypsy jazz but I am quite interested and would love to learn more about this great music. I have been playing guitar for 5 or so years and just started (6 months ago maybe? maybe less months than that) changing my right hand technique and practicing much more. I no longer support my hand on the base of the guitar(like i used to do) and i have changed the way i hold the pick(i used to hold it with the thumb, index and middle :shock: ). I found tablature for the first django song I am going to learn, Minor Swing, in a guitar magazine, and i have been cracking away at it for a few days now. The question I have is is it really neccesary to play the rest stroke technique? At this point in time I can get a nice sound doing strict (for the most part) alternate picking and a floating wrist, so it doesn't seem neccesary to change my picking style yet again. any thoughts?

thanks a lot :D

-Shane
justjack
Mad For It

Post by justjack »

Shane, welcome to the club.

I'm sure you'll hear from Stu about this (picking technique, to Stu, is like air to most others) but I'll say this: it'll make a HUGE difference in your playing if you take it up. It's especially true if you end up playing in a Hotclub style band; the projection you'll gain using it makes a huge difference, and the picking style itself lends itself to many of the phrases idiomatic to the style. Tough work, but worth it in the end if you want to make a go of it.

If you're familiar with Michael Horowitz's Gypsy Picking book, you'll get some good tips via his forum:
http://djangobooks.com/forum/index.php
There's a section devoted to the book alone, as well as a separate one for technique. See you there.

Best,
Jack.
(And if you don't know the book, check it out!)
Stefan

Post by Stefan »