soloing during gigs

The first thirty years are the worst

Moderators: Zoot, Teddy Dupont

nak

soloing during gigs

Post by nak »

for those of you who have the pleasure of gigging, do many of you play 'premeditated' solos? being a relative newbie, i haven't had the chance to perform publicly yet, but i do get together with fellow musicians and jam with the goal of putting together a song list and playing gigs in the not-too-distant future. when i practice on my own, i try to construct solos for various tunes that we play together. it's fun, but during jam sessions i'm pretty much playing the same solos all the time. is this a bad approach? am i using this time unwiseley? i want to be more versatile. i want to be one of those guys who plays a solo and then goes, "whoa, where did that come from? it was , like, magic!" for those of you who have the skill to solo on the fly, what did you do to reach this level and how long did it take? what was your method of practice? thanks for your input.
simon

Post by simon »

Hello good quistion

I try to start a new place on the fretboard every
time i start a improvisation.
Then i trying to make the same run sound completly
diffrent by making the accent on different beats.

Hope it helps ,it has a way of taking you
places you havent been before.

simon
lukejazz

Post by lukejazz »

Good advice Simon!

It's been my experience (over 30 years playing guitar) that when you're playing jobs there are a lot of factors that affect how well you improvse.

Things like how long are the jobs and how often do you play them and what kind of jobs are they and who are you playing with all affect your performance.

For instance, if I were to be playing only once a month or so with some of my friends, I would probably practice a lot on my improvising and try to get several new ideas together to try on each date.