Tips for a new gypsy jazz guitarist!

The first thirty years are the worst

Moderators: Zoot, Teddy Dupont

Tips for a new gypsy jazz guitarist!

Postby Arnstein » Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:13 pm

Hello!

I've been looking for a genre to play for three years now, but I've never found one that I really like until now. I checked out Django Reinhardt's music, and it was great, so I want to learn some gypsy jazz guitar. I've been playing guitar for 3 years(soon 4) and I've played some jazz standards(Blue Bossa Nova, Autumn Leaves), some Pat Metheny(Unity Village) and lately Mediterranean Sundance/Rio Ancho. What songs should I learn first? Any other tips?

Arnstein

Postby Cattermole » Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:34 pm

Get the books 'Gypsy Picking' and 'Gypsy Rhythm' by Michael Horowitz, a few Django discs, tabs to the songs you like best and get stuck in.
I did and now I'm beating the women back with a stick.
"...somebody correct me please if i have said bullshits"
Cattermole

Postby Arnstein » Wed Jun 20, 2007 10:49 pm

Cattermole wrote:Get the books 'Gypsy Picking' and 'Gypsy Rhythm' by Michael Horowitz, a few Django discs, tabs to the songs you like best and get stuck in.
I did and now I'm beating the women back with a stick.

Alright, will do, but I don't have money for it yet, I'm only eighteen! Will check them out when I get some money though. Thanks for the tips :)
Arnstein

Postby Barengero » Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:23 pm

What you can do without money: Check out the forum on djangobooks.com website. It is packed full with informations. There are special threads about the books "Gypsy picking" and "Gypsy rhythm", too.

Best,
Barengero
Barengero

Postby BluesBopHarry » Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:47 pm

Michael at Djangobooks has some great downloadable lessons for five bucks, a real bargain. I recomend you first check out the one on La pompe and the one entitled Gypsy picking. He has a few free lessons too.
There's also a large audio archive and a huge video archive on that site.