to float or not to float

The first thirty years are the worst

Moderators: Zoot, Teddy Dupont

to float or not to float

Postby felixcharlock » Thu Aug 21, 2003 11:52 pm

hello all. i've been enjoying this forum quite a bit lately. lots of good info. i had a question for you lot that i hadn't seen addressed: how important is the gypsy 'floating hand' picking technique to this style of music? i've been playing guitar for close to 20 yrs now (jazz, blues, fingerstyle, etc, etc) and i'm finding that a picking style change this radical seems impossible for me. i'm fine playing django style rhythm with my right hand a-floated, but when i attempt a solo--shit, even 2 notes--everything just crashes and burns worse than marion barry... i've learned a couple django solos note for note picking the way i always have, that is with my middle, ring & pinky anchored on the pickguard, and they sound just fine. so i guess what i'm asking all you learned djangophiles is: is all the practice to re-train my right hand to float worth it? it seems like such a mighty transition this late in the game for me. and on the philosophical tip: wouldn't i be sacrificing what makes me sound like 'me' by learning someone else's technique? isn't my picking technique inherent to my sound and style? wouldn't django just tell me to play like myself and try to be original? woah. big tangent there. sorry to drift. questions, questions, questions. i just love this style of music so much. your feedback is apreciated. thanks, jesse
felixcharlock

Postby Zoot » Fri Aug 22, 2003 12:35 am

To change right hand technique at any stage of the game is a total mind bender and can be quite a tall mountain to climb.

You can spot a player a mile off who has his hand resting. It's volume and tone.