Use of the little finger..

The first thirty years are the worst

Moderators: Zoot, Teddy Dupont

Use of the little finger..

Postby Rich » Tue Sep 13, 2005 4:00 pm

I've been playing guitar for around 10 years now and when playing lead I rarely (if ever) use my little finger on my left hand to fret notes, and have managed to get away with it fine.

Now that I've started playing gypsy jazz I'm starting to think this may be stopping me playing as well as I could. So i've started to try and use my little finger, but compared to my other fingers it has no strength at all.. it's like starting to play again from scratch.

Now that I've sat and thought about it i suppose I should just go look at the masters on the bireli dvd and see what they do.. but still i'd be interested to hear people's opinions on this.
Rich

Postby troychapman » Tue Sep 13, 2005 4:16 pm

Guitar can be played mind-boggling well with 2 fingers, 3 fingers, or 4 fingers (plus a thumb). I haven't heard of a 1 finger guitar genius but I wouldn't rule it out.

The only person's opinion that means anything is your own. Decide how you want to play and go for it.

2 fingers-Django
3 fingers-Stochelo
4 fingers- Angelo
5 fingers and one thumb- Hounddog Taylor
8 fingers- Stanley Jordan
1 thumb- Richie Havens
2 teeth and a tongue-Jimi Hendrix

The only thing that stands between you and greatness is the amount of practice not the amount of fingers.

Of course some people may need 2 or 3 hundred years of practice but thats a whole 'nother topic :twisted:
troychapman

Postby Rich » Tue Sep 13, 2005 5:22 pm

Hey, thanks for the advice.. watching the dvd this afternoon and messing around with different fingerings I came to a similar conclusion. So it really is just a matter of practicing..
Rich

Postby bad b. » Wed Sep 14, 2005 8:01 pm