Argentines

Yahoo this way.......

Moderators: Zoot, Teddy Dupont

Argentines

Postby Ahab » Tue Apr 19, 2011 4:39 pm

Hi there,

Does anyone out there have any tips on making a set of Argentine's last more than 4 days?!

Seem to go dead after 30 hrs of playing. I love the sound but Savarez should really do some investment in getting their strings to last longer! I'm spending £20 a month on these strings, that's £240 a year!!
It's not the size of your guitar, it's what you do with it that counts.
Ahab

Re: Argentines

Postby deuxdoigtsgauches » Tue Apr 19, 2011 7:28 pm

You could give the strings a wipe down on both sides after you play each time, or use some better strings. I've been using those John Pearce 'Nuages' strings for a few years and they sound just like argentines to me, but last much longer.
deuxdoigtsgauches

Postby pinkgary » Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:04 pm

Yeah, i changed to Philip Bosset strings about a year ago, c'os i just got fed up with Argies. I prefer the sound & playability (more tension) of the Bossets on my guitar as well.

BONUS

Try some of the other makes, they're all better made than the Argentines.. See what fits.
Keep music Evil
pinkgary

Postby petermonkey » Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:47 pm

What? You play for seven and a half hours a day? You must be pretty good by now! D'Addario all day long, none of your fancy shite!
petermonkey

Postby crookedpinky » Thu Apr 21, 2011 4:22 am

I'm with Pinkgary - go with Phillipe Bosset. If you keep an eye out on t'internet you can get them for about £8 or £9 and they do last longer - typically for me three times as long as Argies and you don't get the unravelling G string problem. Sound wise they're very similar to Argies and work well on all the guitars I tried them on.

Alan
The Crookedpinky
crookedpinky

Postby Ricardo » Sat Apr 30, 2011 7:03 pm