Thinking In the language of Manouche Guitar...The mind Set

New to the scene? Help is at hand. No question too silly.

Moderator: justjack

Thinking In the language of Manouche Guitar...The mind Set

Postby Gullahboy » Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:29 pm

Hello guys

I just wanted to wish everyone Happy Holidays...and thank the forum for giving me the encouragemnet and the help as I study this beautiful form of music ........At this present time I am studying the secretes of gypsy jazz and I am at the last song before it goes into Dark Eyes .....to make a long story short the book is kicking my ass but I love it..I am learning but what I am looking for is things to start becoming second nature just like when one is learning a new language certain things after the first few months start clicking.......And right now that is not happening ....Yes I am learning some rhythm licks and some neat solos but, I feel if I ever were to jam with some guys I would not be able to apply what I have learned ....Since where I am there are not any person who teaches this style of guitar I am alone..I just want to know is, are there a series of books that help make this style of guitar a part of a persons vocabulary , what I am trying to do is think in the language of Manouche and develop a second nature mentality when it comes to just practising or playing.
Gullahboy

Postby Ricardo » Mon Dec 14, 2009 9:54 pm

It's the Dennis Chang dvd's you are after. Other than that, practice, practice,practice!!! Oh and listen to nothing else but Django/gypsy jazz. (constantly).
Ricardo

Postby Thrip » Tue Dec 15, 2009 11:01 am

I think you've kind of answered your own question. It sounds like you're doing the right things. Carry on and eventually it will start to happen. Personally I find that whenever I learn something new it takes a long time before it comes out spontaneously in my playing, months or years even.
Thrip

Postby stublag » Thu Dec 17, 2009 4:47 pm